Northern Counties Chess Union
Founded 1899
A Constituent Unit of the English Chess Federation
Contact Us

Home - News - Reports - Calendar - NCCU MO


NCCU Individual Championship Rules


The Wahltuch Rose bowl, awarded each year to the NCCU Individual champion, has been contested for since 1908, when the first winner was V. L. Wahltuch. Since then many leading UK chess players have added their names to the trophy. The NCCU Junior Individual Championship has been held since 1954, and again many future stars have had their names on the Edmund Spencer Memorial trophy. In 1999 Stewert Haslinger became the first player to have his name on both the individual and individual junior trophy, through winning both championships at the Heywood congress. Each year the winner has their entry fee paid into the British Championships by the NCCU.  

NCCU Individual Champions 1908 - present day

 NCCU Individual Junior Champions 1954 - present day

Stewart Haslinger making chess history in 1999. Stewart won both the NCCU individual and NCCU Junior Individual titles in June 1999 at the Heywood Congress

Here he is pictured with both the trophies.

The trophy on the right hand side is the Wahltuch Rose bowl trophy, played for since 1908 to decide the NCCU individual champion.

The other trophy is the Edmund Spencer Memorial trophy, won by the NCCU Junior Individual champion since 1954.